Prancing at Prom

I’ve never really been a fan of school dances, but Prom is an exception. Tonight is my senior prom, the last I’ll attend, and I must say, there is something exhilarating with everyone dressed fancily and dancing in a beautiful ballroom.

A cool action shot of me break-dancing at my dad's wedding five years ago.

A cool action shot of me break-dancing at my dad’s wedding five years ago.

My favorite thing about Prom is everyone wants to have a good time, so that is what everyone strives for. Whether they enjoy the songs that are playing or not, everyone dancing on the floor, jumping and screaming to the lyrics, and the energy is simply electrifying.

Not only do I love music, but I love to dance. Too often, people are too nervous to release their full dancing potential; the key to being a good dancer is to feel the music. Allow the rhythm and the bass to echo through your bones, travel throughout your extremities, and release in the form of dance. Whether it be the jitterbug or twerking, dance is a form of self-expression.

Whether you look ridiculous or not, you can always use the excuse “It’s interpretive.” Just remember, there’s no such thing as embarrassment on the dancefloor.

Ps. Be safe tonight kids, make smart decisions, etc. etc.

Playlist. 

  • Liberty and Prosperity Split by GDP and the Front Bottoms
  • Any music by Trampled by Turtles
  • Any music by the Devil Makes Three

2 thoughts on “Prancing at Prom

Speak yo' Mind!